[solved] Auto complete with tab

This feature is not working on my install of Ubuntu 19 and was wondering if someone would be so kind as to point me to a reputable resource on how to set it up.

As I’m still extremely new to the operating system progress on the curriculum has been slow thus far. I’m constantly having to Google this or that because of things I’m not fully understanding.

Any links or suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

I am new to Odin & not familiar at all with Ubuntu. However, I thought I would attempt to help you, since you posted a few hours ago. I know that I’ve had a hard time with the auto complete feature, when I am not in the directory that I think I’m in. So make sure you know where you are at.

In addition, auto complete will only work once you’ve typed enough letters to identify that there only could be one option. For example, I have two folders inside odin_on_rails called google-homepage and google-searchpage. So when I am changing directories into my searchpage, I have to type in to the “s” to get it to work:

cd projects/odin_on_rails/google-s <tab for auto complete>

These two suggestions could be totally way off, but I thought it won’t hurt to see if it helps.

(Update: Seems you were right i wasn’t typing enough of the word so it didn’t know what to auto complete. I feel pretty dumb.)
Thanks for the reply. I’m pretty sure it’s something that hasn’t been set up properly. I’ve found it is also not working on xubuntu 18 at least for me which is the OS that the install guide wants you to use.

Problem is, is that OS refuses to to give me the unity sidebare which apparently is now obsolete anyways and has been replaced with gnome is Ubuntu 19. I’ve considered trying out Linux mint but don’t like the look of it because it is too close to the windows OS so likely won’t go that route.