On Self-Teaching and Getting a Job

jobs
self-taught

Hey, my name’s Leo, and I’m currently one of the mods and contributors to The Odin Project (TOP).

In October of last year, I landed my first web-development role. Prior to this, I had graduated with a Masters degree in Counseling Psychology from an Ivy League institution (lol my student loans), working mainly in social services and advocacy. Now, I’m with a reputable, international company located right outside of Washington, D.C, where people love running, ride e-scooters in traffic like they aren’t going to die, and still think Chipotle is good food.

Don’t you put that evil on me.

I wanted to take a minute to share some thoughts I have about being self-taught. I can’t promise the insights will be unique, but I hope it’ll help in providing context to the ins-and-outs of that process. Let’s dive in.

Step back from the race

When I slowly realized that I might be able to take coding from a hobby to a possible career change, and I spent some time looking for inspiration and seeing what the experience of other peope might have been like. The results weren’t actually that inspiring:

I guess I missed the moment when becoming a self-taught web-developer became part flex, part race, but I’ll tell you this right now: you’re doing yourself more long-term harm than good by telling yourself you’ve gotta go fast.

Oh god no.

The only thing these articles can definitively tell you is that getting a job as a self-taught web-developer is 100% possible. The rest is relative, subjective, and arbitrary.

Setting a time goal is helpful. It can frame and influence your learning. It can serve as check-in points that allow you to evaluate what you’ve learned and re-evaluate your goals as needed. And that last bit is important, because it will be needed. You’ll find yourself going into rabbit-holes as your learning illuminates areas of particular interests that temporarily take you off-course (more on that later).