Novice question : is it best to learn many languages or stick to only one?

Hi everyone,

I come here looking for advice, as I don’t know which path is the best to follow.
I’m about to leave my job (I’m currently a phd student) to become another self taught programmer ;).

But here is my issue : i got a pretty strong background in python 3, and i enjoy it. But I just discovered TOP which is based on ruby. In order to become web dev, and knowing that I give myself 1 year to be job ready, what should i do ? Keep on learning with python or become a “jack of all trade” with TOP and ruby ?

Thanks everyone for your help !

1 Like

Hi, if you know how to program change to another language isnt very dificult. Basically is googling the syntax to do what you already know to do.
Of course there are some diferences between languages but are explainned in TOP very well.

It depends of the track you choose, if you want to be a fullstack developer (doing fronted and backed development) TOP offers the option to do it in Javascript or Ruby.

In the first you program both fronted and backed in javascript. In the other the fonted with javascritp and the backend in ruby

If you love python so much you can do only the fronted development track in TOP and learn how to do the backend in python by yourself.

Also you can learn how to do the backed with odin and then learn how to do the same thing in python with the framework you choose. The good thing of TOP is that teaches how to learn by yourself, so the passage isnt very hard.

Hi @Goratra,