Need Help with pig-Latin project

I’m trying to do the pig Latin exercise, right now I’m stuck trying to get the new set of stings with the translated pig Latin to appear in my second text box. I’ve started with the vowels first because I thought that would be easier to do, but every time I try to translate to pig Latin my second text box return empty even after I returned my new str variable to equal what ever value is in my English text area, and also am I using the while loop correctly this is my first time using a different loop other than for,

here is a link to my code

I’m not quite sure why you’re using a while loop as you’re only checking the first index.
Your code doesn’t actually enter the loop though as

english.value.indexOf[0]

returns undefined. You can check this by using console.log()

When using methods you will typically use round brackets like this: indexOf()

One way to test for the vowel is like this:

// Use includes() to test if the first letter of english is in vowel array
      if(vowels.includes(english.value.charAt(0))) {
        // it is so perform the concat
        newstr = english.value.concat("way");
      }

You should now see the result popping up in the second text box.

Note that this is a tricky problem and so it would be worth spending some time going through some of the available string and array methods and make sure you’re familiar with how to use them.

Best of luck!! :smiley:

I need help with one more thing. I’ve got the function to translate to pig-Latin if the first character is a constant. by slicing char 0 and 1 for one variable and slicing out char 0 for variable like this.
let slice1 = string.slice(0,1);
let slice2 = string.slice(1);