Looking for other computer nerds beginning web dev to pair up

So, I’m in this sort of a weird situation where I actually have a lot of coding experience, but it’s just all over the place, and I don’t think it’s gonna help me land a job anytime soon.

My skill set includes some pretty heavy stuff. I’m an electronics engineer, and I have some grad school CS experience, so I have a strong math background, and I’ve implemented some really complex algorithms in C, like, just straight out of discrete math textbooks. Also, I’ve done some math stuff like calculating the time and space complexity of algorithms, Turing machines, some combinatorics… I’ve been doing a lot of self-taught database design and been writing some pretty long MySQL queries for my job these last few years. Regular expressions using grep on GNU/Linux, BASH scripting, AWK, sed, Parallel programming using POSIX threads, CUDA 3D renders… A bunch of really cool CS nerd stuff I’ve done mostly for school or as a hobby but not so much professionally.

Alas, my particular combination of skills, however wicked, seems to not have much market value these days, and I’m starting to get a bit insecure about my professional and financial future.

I sort of spent my last few years working on pioneering risky,
innovative projects, but sadly, so far I haven’t seen any of them bloom the way I was hoping. So, even though I know how to do a bunch of hard-core computer stuff, I’m pretty underpaid for the work I
am doing right now. As a result, I can’t afford most tuition.

Thus, here I am. I really wanna dive into TOP so I can learn something to help me land a better job.