Linux Noob and Laptop Recommendations

I’m new to TOP and am just at the installation phase. I’ve been using a work laptop (different type of job) and have not had my own for a few years. I want to get a new laptop (new to me) so I can personalize and run my own OS for studying without messing up my flow on my work laptop. It seems like Linux will be the way to go but I want to make sure I have the right processors as well. From what I’ve read, Linux needs less to run than Windows which could mean a lower processor which could mean lower price (did I mention I was on a budget?) From research a couple months ago I also read that the best processor for coding is Intel i3 and up, is this still where I should be aiming? I did find an inexpensive chromebook but it seems it is at the absolute lowest it’s the HP Chromebook 14. Also if dual-booting is the route I take how does that affect the processing power of the laptop? Any thoughts or suggestions will be so immensely appreciated. Thanks

You can’t go wrong with a used ThinkPad. I’ve used a new-to-me ThinkPad T420 for about as much of The Odin Project as i’ve completed, and for programming it’s been super effective. You can find these bad boys (and some of the newer models, or the thinner X variants) on Ebay for like around $250 from a reputable refurbisher. I got mine for $250 from a Microsoft certified refurbisher with Windows 10 pro already installed on it and working (not anymore lol it’s all Linux now :DDD)