Let's create a self directed bootcamp

self-taught

Hey all, the more I research into coding bootcamp, the more I feel that the value of it is probably 70% community/discipline, 20% career support and 10% instructor feedback. SO I’m thinking if we can have a group of people on slack and zoom studying and pair programming all day every day for 10-12 weeks, we can recreate that 70% of that value. We can follow Odin curriculum. I even read stories of people who have done this before and eventually made into google/uber after some junior sprints.

Already having a partner that shows interest, please contact me if you want to discuss! I’m in London time zone, but can try to make it work even if there is some time difference.

Thanks!

Hey @zliyclh

Sounds like a nice idea.

Just wanted to check that what you are proposing is just trying to recreate the bootcamp feel without the cost? You aren’t advertising anything with a cost?

For what it’s worth we have looked into how we can help people work together more and it’s been very difficult because people all work on different schedules.

We do have the discord forums where people can get support on their own terms too.

Sounds like a cool idea! Everyone would be on the same track, I assume?

Yes exactly, everything should be free. I certainly understand that managing group of people can be very challenging. In some strange ways, once one pay a hefty amount of money to a bootcamp, motivation level is on the way up … Having said that, I do feel if we can have a group of people with similar clear objectives and a structure, it can be achieved. At the end of the day, the worse scenario is that this doesn’t work and I’ll go to a bootcamp any way…

Thanks for responding and confirming. Hopefully you can make a success of it without having to pay to attend a bootcamp. Good luck!