Is Ruby really the best start to teach programming/web?

Hi,

I was wondering why ruby/ ruby-on-rails was chosen as introduction? I’m not an expert by any means just a student but I think that ruby has alot of disadvantages compared to other languages like Python.

1. As you said in the beginning Ruby does not run well on Windows so beginners are forced to use a different operating system (installing a VM/dualboot), which is a valuble skill for sure, but also can be a “wall” for some people. It also slows down the point where you really start to learn programming.
    Python on the other hand can be installed on all operating systems with ease and you can use the IDEs or git-bash unix-commandline functionality even on windows.

2. Sources. Python has a mutch bigger community and demand on the jobmarket then ruby. The result is that student will find alot more guides/tutorials and help if they have a problem.

3. Ruby is mainly known for its ruby-on-rails web-framework. I rarely see it used for other things while python has soooo many librarys/frameworks (web, data science, ai, web-scraping, picture/video editing, IOT, …) which are mostly super easy to install and use (VENV).

Django would be the alternative for rails. In the end you will learn other languages anyway but for someone who wants to “try” out programming the first time the complexity and frustration they may encounter can be overwhelming. (Even tho the tutorials are VERY well written and cover most if not all error cases)
I think the overall value of python as first language is mutch higher then rubys.

Edit: After reading through my post I noticed that it sounds harsher than I meant it. The tutorial and website/forum are of incredible quality. The way how everything is structured and explained, the use of external sources, assignments, exercises, knowlage-tests is the best I ever saw.

I hear ya!
NOW I remember why I have such disdain for Ruby on Rails.