Girl Coder - Newbie! - Accountability Partners?

Hi everyone! I am Rachel from Florida. I have a Bachelor in business, but was always a math girl. I recently read up on programming, and have begun studying CSS/HTML, as well as beginning on The Odin Project. I am self-employed and work from home, so I have a lot of time and flexibility. I am super excited to keep learning. I think I will begin with Java, as I did take a Java Programming class in college, albeit 10 years ago now. I can’t remember a darn thing, but I knew I enjoyed it, and got one of the highest overall grades. I’ve considered taking a C++ course at a community college this fall.

I’d love to follow along with other newbies with NO programming background, as I really am learning this from ground zero.

7 Likes

I have just started myself too. I intend to do a 100-day challenge, and I could use an accountability partner.

1 Like

Hi Sarah,
same here! Bachelor of Business Administration and basics of HTML/CSS!

I’m currently studying JavaScript as I’m a furloughed worker and have LOADS of time in my hands… But it’s quite a tough nut!

I’m happy to follow your journey from a complete beginner to an expert, whenever that might be :smiley:

Hi Rachel! Caleb from Rhode Island and I’m starting ground floor just like you. I’m probably trying to go html, css, and javascript…I hear front end web dev is in higher demand then back end

1 Like

Welcome, glad to have you with us.

Luckily, JS is used for both the front- and back-end :star_struck:

Hi! Anna from Germany, but lived 4 years in the USA.
AppAcademy Open dropout, got frustrated when I started Ruby, the level ramped up too fast.
I hope TOP is more consistent in level. I am not afraid of challenges but I cannot run a marathon after training for a 5k!

Hi Rachel!

Janea from Georgia! I have a BS in Psychology. I’ve been playing around with coding via udemy and youtube for a few weeks. I want to make a career change so here I am!